Kreider Prize for Teaching

Use one of the forms below then login to JayWeb to nominate a faculty member:

The generosity of an alumnus has made possible an annual award to a current Elizabethtown College faculty member for excellence in teaching and mentoring. The award is named in honor of Dr. J. Kenneth Kreider, professor of history emeritus, and Carroll L. Kreider, professor of business emerita "for their inspirational service to countless students at Elizabethtown College." The Kreiders were not only inspirational in the classroom, but were also powerful mentors and role models. 

Current students, faculty and staff members are encouraged to nominate a faculty member of your choice. All current full-time faculty members who have taught at the College for at least three years are eligible. Choose from the drop down list and write a brief (250-500 word) statement on how the nominated faculty member inspires or inspired you and why you think he or she is deserving of the award. The deadline for nominations is February 24, 2017.  Please note: If you nominated a faculty member last year, you do not need to resubmit the nomination. Your nomination will be considered along with new nominations submitted this year.

The Professional Development Committee and two students will choose the recipient of the prize from all those nominated. Remember, to be eligible for consideration, a faculty member must be nominated by at least three of the following constituencies: students, faculty and staff members, and alumni. If you’ve nominated someone, encourage members of other constituencies in the College community to support the faculty member you have nominated. The recipient of the Kreider Prize will be announced on or around April 17, 2017.

Questions about the nomination process may be directed to Jill Moore, Assistant to the Dean for Academic Affairs & Faculty Development at 717-361-1555 or moorejill

Kreider Prize Award for Teaching (past recipients)

  • 2014-15- Dr. Oya Ozkanca

  • 2015-16- Dr. Edward Chung