SVPAA: Deans and Directors

The Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of Faculty oversees many of the College's offices, services, centers and programs.

Dean for Academic Affairs and Faculty Development
Kristi Kneas, Ph.D.

Phone 717-361-1555 - Email kneas

The Dean for Academic Affairs and Faculty Development (DAAFD) is a champion of faculty development and supports the faculty’s continued professional growth as teacher-scholars and experts in their field. Within a shared governance framework, the DAAFD evaluates faculty members and maintains expected standards of excellence in teaching, research, and service. Working with faculty leadership, the DAAFD ensures that academic excellence and student learning remain the primary focus of the institution.

Responsible to the DAAFD are the Director of the Young Center, Director of the Center for Global Understanding and Peacemaking, Executive Director of the Office for Sponsored Research and Programs, Director of the Bowers Writers House, and the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning.


Dean for Curriculum and Assessment
W. Brian Newsome, Ph.D.

Phone 717-361-3740 - Email

The Dean for Curriculum and Assessment provides leadership in support of the curriculum and assessment to ensure a dynamic learning community. The DCA oversees Registration and Records, serves as Registrar, and works with Department Chairs to create the fall, spring, and summer schedules of courses. The Dean oversees the First-Year Program and collaborates with appropriate offices and leaders on the Sophomore Year Experience. He chairs the Academic Standing and Academic Review Committees, and works closely with the Educational Assessment Committee on meaningful assessment of student learning. The Dean serves as the College's liaison to the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. Each semester, the Dean announces a Dean's List of Distinguished Students. 


Dean of School of Continuing & Professional Studies
Barbara Randazzo

Phone 717-361-3750 - Email

The Dean of the School of Continuing Education and Professional Studies is the chief academic officer and chief administrator of the Edward R. Murphy Center for Continuing Education and Distance Learning. The Dean is responsible to the Provost and Senior Vice President for planning, implementing, and managing all of the School’s academic (credit) and non-academic (non-credit) programming, student policies, distance learning initiatives, identification, development, and assignment of the Center’s faculty, recruitment of adult learners by appropriate standards, evaluation and approval of all adult learner transfer credits to Elizabethtown College, evaluation of adult credit for prior learning, and final approval of the School’s candidates for graduation and degrees. The Dean also maintains the Center’s academic and professional standards. The Dean is further responsible for consulting and cooperating with the School’s Council on Academic Management that advises the Dean on the School's governance; the Dean also consults and cooperates with the School’s Advisory Council.


Assistant Dean for Academic Achievement and Engagement
Kyle Kopko, Ph.D.

Phone 717-361-1990 - Email kopkok

Reporting to the Senior Vice President, the Assistant Dean directs the Elizabethtown College Honors Program. He is Chair of the Honors Committee and works with Admissions to recruit qualified students, advises students entering the program, teaches within the Program, develops the Honors Program curriculum, approves all honors courses and honors "contracts," organizes annual Honors Lectures, plans co-curricular activities, approves disbursement of Professional Development funds for Honors students, and conducts ongoing assessment of the Honors Program.

The Assistant Dean works with faculty and administrative leaders to support student engagement through a variety of high impact programs including the Stamps Scholar Program, directed by Jean Pretz, Prestigious Scholarship Program, directed by Joel Janisewski, Community and Civic Engagement, directed by Joel Janisewski, and Study Abroad Programs, directed by Megan Bell.  


Director of Diversity, Inclusion and Title IX
Armenta Hinton, Ph.D.

Phone 717-361-1179 - Email

The Director of Diversity, Inclusion and Title IX leads campus-wide diversity and inclusive excellence initiatives and ensures Title IX compliance. Please visit the Office of Diversity, Inclusion and Title IX webpage for more information.


Director, Institutional Research
Debra Sheesley, B.S.

Phone 717-361-1492 - Email

The Director of Institutional Research collects, analyzes, interprets, and disseminates relevant and accurate information to promote institutional effectiveness. The Office of Institutional Research supports short-term and long-term planning and decision-making within the College, as well as satisfy external reporting needs. Please visit the Institutional Research webpage for more information.


Director, The High Library
Sarah Penniman, M.S.

Phone 717-361-1428 - Email

The Director of the High Library is a member of the college administration and reports to the Senior Vice President. The Director of the Library is responsible for the administration of the library including the budget and the entire library staff. With the advice and counsel of the Instructional Resources and Technology Committee, the she formulates library policies designed to improve library service and resources. Working closely with faculty and students the Director assesses library needs and plans for the development of a balanced collection of library materials, including books, periodicals, tapes, records, slides, and micro-text. She serves as a liaison between the Elizabethtown High Library and other area college libraries to strengthen library resources and services in the area.