Convocation will take place on Tuesday, August 29, 2017, at 4 p.m. in Leffler Chapel. Convocation is the annual official opening ceremony for the academic year. Those recognized include: 2017-18 first-year students, faculty members who have been promoted and/or tenured (listed below) effective in the 2017-18 academic year, and emergent scholars recognized at a celebration luncheon March 2017.

Faculty Recognized for the 2017-18 academic year:

Andy Dunlap — associate professor of social work, tenured

Kirsten Johnson — promoted to professor of communications

Kristi Kneas — promoted to professor of chemistry

Shannon Haley-Mize — tenured and promoted to associate professor of education

W. Brian Newsome — promoted to professor of history

Jean Pretz — promoted to professor of psychology

Gabriel Ricci — promoted to professor of humanities