Faculty Lectures

Sponsored by the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs & Dean of Faculty
Contact: Peggy Stauffer at staufferp@etown.edu or 717-361-1416
Open to the public - Tickets are not necessary

The Ranck Prize for Research Excellence

Inaugural Ranck Lecture by Dr. April Kelly-Woessner
Professor of Political Science and Chair of the Department of Politics, Philosophy and Legal Studies

March 28, 2018 at 11 a.m. in the High Library

"The Role of the Public Intellectual in the Era of Fake News, Misinformation, and Partisan Bias"

In this inaugural lecture for the Ranck Prize in Research Excellence, political scientist Kelly-Woessner argues that academics have a civic responsibility to disseminate truth in the face of widespread misinformation and intense partisan bias. The public intellectual seeks to expand his or her audience by making research findings accessible to non-experts and actively promoting those finding through the media and public forums. Dr. Kelly-Woessner will give specific examples from her own scholarship to show that even relatively unknown academics can shape the national discourse by correcting popular misconceptions with balanced and compelling scientific evidence.

About the Ranck Lecture

The Rank Prize in Research Excellence, is an award that will be presented annually to an Elizabethtown College faculty member in recognition of his/her excellence in research and commitment to his/her field of study. The Award, which has been made possible through the generosity of Dr. Robert O. Kerr '64 and Mary Ann Kerr '64, is named in honor of Dr. John P. Ranck '58, professor of chemistry emeritus, "for his inspirational service to countless students at Elizabethtown College. Nominations may come from the candidate or from other academics from the nominee's field. Consistent with the Boyer model of scholarship, research is considered in the broadest context of understanding and may include publication or presentation of papers; publication of books or other scholarly material; exhibitions of art, theatrical or musical performances' and other items appropriate to the discipline. The recipient of the Ranck Prize will be announced in mid December each year and invited to present an award lecture in the spring that academic year.

The Kreider Prize for Teaching Excellence

2018 Annual Kreider Lecture by Dr. Kurt DeGoede
Professor of Physics and Engineering

October 11, 2018 at 7 p.m. in Myer/Susquehanna Room

TITLE: "Still Learning: continuous improvement in engineering and teaching"

Dr. DeGoede will reflect on research, product development, teaching and mentoring though a lens of engineering design: making the best change in poorly understood situations.

Dr. Kurt DeGoede completed his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Michigan after earning a B.S. from Hope College, and an M.S. from Case Western Reserve University. Between degrees, he enjoyed three years as a project manager at Ford Motor Company. Dr. DeGoede has taught across the engineering and physics curriculum. He has conducted research and product development in biomechanics, clinical rehabilitation, appropriate technologies in West Africa, and engineering education. DeGoede also enjoys mentoring students with ASME, the cross country teams, and the cycling club.

About the Kreider Lecture

Through the generosity of Thomas Conner '72, professor of history at Hillsdale College, this annual award is made possible and awarded to a current Elizabethtown College faculty member for excellence in teaching and mentoring. The award is named in honor of J. Kenneth Kreider, professor of history emeritus, and Carroll L. Kreider, professor of business emerita, "for their inspirational service to countless students at Elizabethtown College." The Kreiders were not only inspirational in the classroom, but also were powerful mentors and role models.