Institutional Assessment

All of our assessment efforts focus on how to continually improve the services we deliver to our students and employees. This philosophy is further reinforced through our accreditation process.

Our accrediting body (the Middle States Commission for Higher Education) organizes assessment into two useful areas: Institutional Effectiveness (see Institutional Research) and Educational Effectiveness.

Educational Effectiveness

The Educational Assessment Committee (EAC) was established as a permanent committee in shared governance at the College in April 2011. The primary mission of the EAC is to ensure that student learning is regularly and skillfully assessed and that the results of these assessment activities are used to strengthen educational programs and inform resource allocation across the institution. The EAC is also responsible for ensuring that the College meets the intent and the technical requirements of Middle States Commission on Higher Education, Standard 5:

Across all educational experiences, settings, levels, and instructional modalities, the institution recruits and admits students whose interests, abilities, experiences, and goals are congruent with its mission and educational offerings. The institution commits to student retention, persistence, completion, and success through a coherent and effective support system sustained by qualified professionals, which enhances the quality of the learning environment, contributes to the educational experience, and fosters student success.

 View Our Goals, Outcomes Statements, and Reports

Reporting Support

As part of our efforts to facilitate and streamline reporting, an annual assessment update form is available to department chairs and assessment liaisons. To access the forms, chairs and liaisons should log onto JayWeb and then click on Online Forms.

In addition, an end of the year online form has been developed and is available at EAC 2015-16 Report.

The Elizabethtown College Educational Assessment Committee members as of Fall 2015 are:

  • Brian Newsome, Chair (Faculty Representative from Humanities)
  • Rick Basom (Executive Director, Office of Sponsored Research and Programs)
  • Allison Bridgeman (Student Life Representative)
  • Marianne Calenda (Dean of Students)
  • Kerri Hample (Faculty Representative from Professional Studies)
  • Dmitriy Krichevskiy (Faculty-at-Large Representative)
  • Catherine Lemley (Faculty Representative from Academic Council)
  • Fletcher McClellan (Dean of Faculty)
  • Jean Pretz (Faculty Representative from Physical/Natural Sciences)
  • Tatem Burns (Representative from Student Senate)